Four Noble Truths – Craving or Thirst (Tanha)

TO Search Within is to know oneself which is to know the second noble truth

TO Search Within is to know oneself which is to know the second noble truth

I have been reading up on Buddhism and the Four Noble Truths  – The first noble truth is “Life is Suffering” the second one is one I am reading upon and studying upon tonight..The Second Noble Truth teaches that the cause of suffering is craving or thirst (tanha). We continually search for something outside ourselves to make us happy. But no matter how successful we are, we never remain satisfied.  – I look upon what is going on around me in the world and this makes so much sense.  Greed is so prevalent.  – get as much as you can get and keep grabbing, keep building. Don’t worry about anyone else just keep grabbing wealth, cars, computers, etc  and that thirst for more is never satisfied. –  Then I look at myself (the self) Yeah I would like a home instead of an apartment , but I don’t NEED it.   I would like a better computer (I only NEED it for my business and my art, so that I may take care of my family. It is not a craving that once I get that mega computer I am going to NEED a bigger and better one – on and on- not unless my computer crashes.  I have even done barter jobs for computers).   I would love to have enough money to pay our bills off and to not have to worry about who is calling us on the phone, or if we are going to have enough money to pay rent.  This is so Kitra Garrett can rest some and not work so hard!  Other then bills and food – money is not a NEED for me.  I am not a big person to “WANT” this or “SPEND” on that.   As stated yesterday on a status I tend to be a bit of a cheap penny pincher anyway.  Would I like to be able to spend on OTHERS once in awhile and give to charities – sure! that would be great.  But, I feel there are other ways to help out too.  Give of your time, of your self.   Yet, I don’t see people doing this anymore. Use to be people helped people even if they didn’t have “the time” or “the money” and anymore to many people are to focused on “themselves” and not on others, again leading to the thirst (tanha) and the suffering.    This Second Noble Truth really has made a lot of sense to me!

6 thoughts on “Four Noble Truths – Craving or Thirst (Tanha)

  1. Hi there, You have done a great job. I’ll definitely digg it and personally recommend to my friends. I am sure they’ll be benefited from this site.

  2. Love this, I have recently read through the four noble truths and I think they are right on when it comes to the reasons we suffer. Desire. How many times in life does the desire for love, money, or possessions lessen our enjoyment of what we have? Great thoughts, can’t wait to hear about the third and fourth noble truths. Thank you for sharing.

  3. Pingback: Four Noble Truths – Craving or Thirst (Tanha) | Go Green WNY

Leave a Reply

