“The Very Sad, Holy Angel”

Holy Angel

11/365 – I was torn between Holy Angel , Sad Angel , and Sacred Angel. I am very pleased with the way this angel turned out. Comments are welcomed. A fan of my work who reads and comments on a regular basis commented on this painting and called it “The Very Sad, Holy Angel” I liked it so much I changed the title from just “Holy Angel”. Thank you Jonathan Hilton for you suggestion.

Rosery? No, Spiritual Beads!

totem-cross at bottom

My wife makes rosaries and this Christmas she made me a set of Native Spiritual Beads which Resembled the Rosaries:

Where Catholics would say the Apostle’s Creed and would have a Cross –
She placed a Totem topped with a Thunder Bird or also known as Red Tail Hawk my spiritual totem.

With the totem  I say the morning prayer:

 I say my Cherokee prayer here:<br /><br />”Oh, Great Spirit, whose voice I hear in the wind,<br />Whose breath gives life to all the world.<br />Hear me; I need your strength and wisdom.<br />Let me walk in beauty, and make my eyes ever<br />behold the red and purple sunset.<br />Make my hands respect the things you have<br />made and my ears sharp to hear your voice.<br />Make me wise so that I may understand<br />the things you have taught my people.<br />Help me to remain calm and strong in<br />the face of all that comes towards me.<br />Let me learn the lessons you have hidden<br />in every leaf and rock.<br />Help me seek pure thoughts and act<br />with the intention of helping others.<br />Help me find compassion without<br />empathy overwhelming me.<br />I seek strength, not to be greater than my brother,<br />but to fight my greatest enemy Myself. Make me always ready to come to you<br />with clean hands and straight eyes.<br />So when life fades, as the fading sunset,<br />my spirit may come to you without shame.

The first mystery is represented by 4 jasper bears and 4 turquoise beards

The Jasper Bear is to represent my Native Clan.  Jasper helps me Ground as I hold my beads. Jasper also  provides  courage to speak out and have personal independence. Turquoise helps for Protection, energy, wisdom, serenity, wholeness, self expression, creativity, peace of mind, emotional balance, good luck, spiritual grounding, honest communication, friendship, love and loyalty, and it absorbs negativity.

Plus – 4 is a sacred number which represents 4 sacred colors – 4 sacred directions.   With this section I say my daily prayers. Asking for blessings and guidance. Or I just concentrate on the four sacred elements and the elements of Jasper and Turquoise.


The center piece represents center inside me…the center of my spirituality
Also has a feather – and butterfly.

Butterflies are souls of the dead waiting to pass through purgatory” Butterflies also symbolize: Resurrection, Transition, Celebration, Lightness, Time, Soul.

The Center piece also represents a medicine wheel – I use it to help me bring Balance to the Earth: Within each of myself and those I help through my spiritual healing.  There is male and female, are female and male elements in us all which must stay in balance. As well as Positive and Negative which must stay balanced in each of us as well.

Then there is the feather – it is there to represent many things like trust, honor, strength, wisdom, power, freedom and many more things.

The copper leaves are for a few reasons medical and spiritual.



teach us to slow down and reserve our energies. Bear medicine also has to do with awakening from within. Bear teaches us that life’s answers are no further than your own subconscious. There is no need to look outside of yourself when bear is nearby. Bears are also climbers and can teach us to reach new heights. Bears love honey and teach us to appreciate the sweetness life offers.

The copper leaves which are through out my new spiritual beads have a few purposes both physical/medical and spiritual.

In holistic healing Copper has been said to boost one energy, as well as, for healing on one’s arthritis and rheumatism. Copper has been used with blood and metabolism disorders. Copper acts as a conductor when worn on the body.  Spiritually the copper leaves remind me to keep pushing on and not to give up.  If you read my blog here, you will read a story about how leaves taught me a life lesson.

7 is a sacred number to my people the Cherokee represents 4 sacred directions plus 3 Up, Down, and Inside ourselves.


Finally there are 3 Jasper Bears and 4 Turquoise round beads which equals 7 beads all around. – 7 is lucky number to the Cherokee people it represents East, South, West, and North plus Upward , Downs word and Inner world for us all.


If you like these spiritual beads please feel free to comment or send an email and I pass on your message to my girl Kitra!




Enlightment Though Art: 9-365

I was responding to a comment on one of my art pieces this morning and I truly believe I was divinely inspired as I wrote.  As I thanked my new friend for complimenting my art work, I went on to try and explain how I am inspired with my my ideas for my creations, instead what flowed out  was a small piece about life’s path and how creating art is like life.

I must thank my friend for opening the door for this opportunity for the divine to speak to me and through me.  I create art from my emotions, from my soul, As I create my work fluctuates changing as I work sometimes changing totally from what I started out for it to mean.   Other times I have to trash what ever I am working on and just start over, this is ok, because I learned a lesson in what I was creating before – What didn’t work – What I didn’t want to create – Perhaps even what i want or need to eliminate.

This is indeed like life – we choose a path, we struggle down this path having it fluctuate as we create our life’s path changing sometimes large changes other times large changes as we create our life path, other times we come to a fork (some forks are multi-forked) and we have to change path all together.    That path may not be the only thing changing in life when we change path We ourselves may change making our struggle seem harder than it really is, if we just let go and let the divine (let the flow of the path flow around us).  

Then again there are some of us who may have to stop – go back to the “beginning” and start all over again with a totally new path all together.  Ok, that is fine we can do that, nothing wrong with it at all.  We Face the new path with knowledge from the old path – what didn’t work – What did work – what we absolutely don’t want to try again –  Perhaps even what we want or need to eliminate from this path all together!  This way we don’t relive those same mistakes on this new path with us, that way we don’t make the same mistakes.

With this knowledge comes Enlightenment and what do we do with the Enlightenment that we have gained?   That is up to each of us who gain the Enlightenment – To me?  It is for us to pass on the knowledge to others reach their own Enlightenment!

Star Child

“Hope” – Third Noble Truth

"Hope - Third Nobel Truth"
“Hope – Third Nobel Truth”

The Buddha’s teachings on the Four Noble Truths are sometimes compared to a physician diagnosing an illness and prescribing a treatment. The first truth tells us what the illness is, and the second truth tells us what causes the illness. The Third Noble Truth holds out hope for a cure.

The Buddha taught that through diligent practice, we can put an end to craving. Ending the hamster-wheel chase after satisfaction is enlightenment (bodhi, “awakened”). The enlightened being exists in a state called Nirvana.